[Skip to Content]

about best of year

the program

Interior Design's Best of Year is the design industry's premiere design awards program, honoring the most significant work of the year as well as recognizing designers, architects and manufacturers from around the globe.

Now celebrating its 13th year, Interior Design's Best of Year has become the ultimate measure of excellence, showcasing what's happening today in every category of design while simultaneously setting the bar even higher for the future.

The Best of Year awards ceremony draws 1,000+ world-wide attendees. Winners are announced LIVE by hosts Cindy Allen, Editor in Chief, and Carol Cisco, Publisher of Interior Design and take home the coveted Best of Year bulb award, designed by Harry Allen.

View the 2017 Best of Year winners and honorees.


the benefits

Winners of the 2018 Best of Year Awards will receive the following:

  • Honored live at the Best of Year awards ceremony, held on November 30th in NYC, with 1,000+ guests in attendance
  • Projects and Products are featured in the December issue of Interior Design magazine
  • Projects and Products are featured in an online gallery on InteriorDesign.net and promoted throughout Interior Design's digital channels
  • A coveted Best of Year Bulb Award, designed by icon Harry Allen
  • Official digital assets and seals for use on all marketing materials
  • Opportunities to be featured on Interior Design's social channels



Submissions to the 2018 Best of Year awards will open July 16, 2018

The deadline to enter is September 15, 2018
Every product submission receives huge exposure while voting is live on the Interior Design Best of Year voting site from October 5 - 16, 2018.

Submission fee: $300 per entry

each entrant will receive a 1-year complimentary digital subscription to Interior Design magazine


Product submissions must have been introduced between September 2017 and September 2018. Products/collections may be entered into one or more categories. Products may be entered into one or more categories.

Project submissions must have been completed between September 2017 and September 2018 (with the exception of the "on the boards" category, reserved for in-progress projects). Projects may be entered into one or more categories.

Products and Projects that have been previously awarded or published are not excluded from entry.


the event

The Best of Year awards ceremony draws 1,000+ world-wide attendees from the design industry. Winners are announced LIVE at the event by hosts Cindy Allen, Editor in Chief, and Carol Cisco, Publisher of Interior Design.

This year, the event will take place on November 30 in New York City. Best of Year awards finalists will enjoy two complimentary tickets to the event. Additional tickets may be purchased for $150.

View coverage from Best of Year 2017.


If you are interested in becoming a sponsor of Best of Year, please contact your regional director, 917.934.2882 or idsales@interiordesign.net.



Submissions open - July 16, 2018

Entry deadline - September 15, 2018

Public voting - October 5 - 16, 2018

Finalists announced - mid-November, 2018

Best of Year awards ceremony - November 30, 2018

about Interior Design

Interior Design is the global, industry-leading design publication, website and events company serving the interior design, architectural and facility management audiences. For over 85 years, Interior Design magazine—published by SANDOW, which builds smart businesses driven by innovation and design—has been the essential design authority for every professional, on all projects, throughout the design process.

Subscribe to Interior Design magazine